ALRTA News – 23 June 2017


ALRTA and NHVR remind members that nominations for $5,000 joint 2017 Safety Innovation Award will close on 30 June 2017.

More information and application forms are available here.



The ALRTA National President and Executive Director attended the LRTASA Annual Conference held at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre over 16-17 June 2016.  Attendance levels were excellent with around 300 delegates at the Saturday gala dinner.

The Conference was opened by South Australian Minister for Transport and Infrastructure, the Hon Stephen Mullighan MP, who focused his address on heavy vehicle charging, infrastructure improvements in South Australia and the progressive handover of responsibilities from South Australian agencies to the NHVR.

Minister Mullighan and the ALRTA are in strong agreement that the current charging system is broken, but it is fair to say we have quite different perspectives about the cause.  While the Minister considers that the main problem is that the revenue collected under PAYGO and the Road User Charge is not quarantined for use on future road spending, the ALRTA considers that the main problem is that Ministers are over-recovering road-related spending that has occurred in the past.

A big change that has occurred in South Australia over the past year is that the NHVR is now responsible for heavy vehicle related prosecutions.  If this was to be extended to other jurisdictions (and I am told that other jurisdictions have expressed a strong interest), then there is potential for a nationally consistent approach and an enhanced ability for investigations to cross borders.

You may also be interested to learn that the NHVR prosecutor is treating state and local governments that operate trucks or make demands in the supply chain in exactly the same manner as commercial entities.   There have been several investigations and at least one local government entity is about to be the subject of a prosecution!

ALRTA congratulates the LRTASA Executive elected at the AGM:

·       President: David Smith

·       Vice President: Scott Quinn

·       Vice President: Adam Pengelly

·       Treasurer/Secretary: Hayley Masson

Every year I have included a photo of the Minister making his opening address, but this year I’ll make a change and show you the fun atmosphere of the dinner and the absolutely delicious lamb chops that I look forward to every year.



President Keenan and I headed straight up to Darwin after the LRTASA Conference for the ATA Council Meeting and ATA’s Trucking Australian Conference.

ATA Council Meeting

The livestock and rural sector was well represented at the ATA Council meeting by David Smith (ALRTA), Linley Miners (Small Fleet), John Beer (Owner Driver) and Mathew Munro (ALRTA).

The Council considered fuel tax credits, vehicle width policy, freight and supply chain strategy, development of a master code of practice, ATA election rules and the future of Road Freight NSW as an independent entity.

ALRTA congratulates the ATA Vice Chairs elected at the meeting: David Smith (for a second term) and Austin Vella.

Trucking Australia Conference

Our representatives were joined by many other familiar faces from our industry including LRTAWA President, Stephen Marley, LBRCA Vice President Bulk, Kel Baxter, and two Cummins Scholarship winners Marla Stone and Athol Carter. Yes, the weather was rather hot, but thankfully dry.

Much of this year’s conference was focused on preparing operators for the future.  We heard from a futurist about emerging technologies, the NTC about future regulation, the ALC about the new master code under development, about the new chain of responsibility laws due to come into force next year as well as how to prepare our northern regions for Australia’s transport future.

It was fitting that there was an autonomous passenger vehicle operating just outside the conference venue – a 12 seater bus that does the rounds of the Darwin water front.  It did have an ‘operator’ present inside, but apparently that was just because people are too afraid to use it without a responsible person present!

This years’ Kenworth Legends were Roger Pickering (Pickering Transport Group) and Loraine and Peter Gilbert (Gilbert Transport Services).  While our ‘legends’ have built very successful businesses, they sounded a strong warning about the ever growing level of red tape and regulation that is suffocating their operations.  Even in the context of a ‘future focus’ we ignore the past at our own peril.

The event was topped off by a Gala Dinner on Saturday night and presentation of the Australian Trucking Awards (details of winners next week)



ALRTA congratulates Ferdie Kroon on his election as Chair of the TruckSafe Board.  Mr Kroon is the risk and compliance manager with De Bruyn’s Transport Tasmania.

Stephen Marley (LRTAWA President) has retired from the TruckSafe Board after 17 years in the role, including six as Chair.  Mr Darby Sullivan and Mr Darren Nolan have also retired.

Joining the Board are David Rogers (LRTAV Vice President & DT Rogers Bulk Transport) and Paul Fellows (Fellows Transport).


Members are advised that the ALRTA National Secretariat is moving across Canberra to the centrally located ATA owned building in Barton.  We are planning for the move to occur between 27 June and the week commencing 1 July 2017.

There may be some disruption to our normal services during the relocation due to risks associated with moving our telephones and IT platform.  If you are have not received a response to an enquiry in a timely manner you can contact the ALRTA Executive Director on 0421 082 489.

Our new postal address is:

PO Box 4233
Manuka ACT 2603



LRTAWA Conference

The LRTAWA Annual State Conference will be held 30 June – 1 July 2017 at the Light House Beach Resort in Bunbury.

For more information contact:

LRTAV Conference

The LRTAV Annual State Conference will be held 11-12 August 2017 at the RACV Resort in Torquay.

Check here for more information.