The Rural Transport Rising Star Award

In 2023, ALRTA National Partner bp and Media Partner PowerTorque, in association with the Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association presented the first ever Rural Transport Rising Star Award at the LRTAWA/ALRTA Combined National Conference in Busselton WA.

Scott McDonald (ALRTA), Damian Swalling, Amy Throckmorton, Kathy Young (BP) and PowerTorque editor Tim Giles.

Travel to the National Conference including flights, transfers and accommodation was courtesy of bp up to $2,500 for award finalists, with a cash prize of $5000 for the winner.

This initiative was created to celebrate, encourage and reward young people building the rural transport industry of the future.

ALRTA Honorary Life Membership

ALRTA Honorary Life Membership is awarded to long-term rural transport industry contributors who have distinguished themselves among their peers.

McIver Award

The McIver Award recognises someone who has gone ‘above and beyond’ in making an outstanding contribution to our industry in recent times.

The McIver Award was established in 2015, when celebrating ALRTA operating for 30 years.

McIver Award Recipents

  • 2018 Owen Driscoll
    • Owen Driscoll established NTI’s Roadteam network and founded the National Truck Accident Research Centre in 2002
  • 2015 John Beer
    • John Beer’s personal passion to make our industry safer led to the launch of the National Ramp Guidelines